The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of student housing at Buckingham College concludes by advising to build new dormitories to increase the number of students in future. He comes to this decision based on the current trend of increase in enrollment in the college, his future prediction and also the increase in average rent of apartment in the town. However, even the assertion made by the director be true, he must provide evidence to these three explanations in order to determine the credibility of the argument.

First of all, the director assumes that the current rate of increase in number of students will continue for next fifty years. It is possible that the subjects being provided in the college at present, coincide with the job availability; so, there has been increase in number of students. Since job demand is capricious, present jobs having high manpower demand may not have proportional demand in future and there may not be more students in future who want to pursue the field of study provided by the college. It is also possible that a similar college with similar or even more facility will be established nearby that might distribute the number of student to these two college decreasing new enrollment rate. If any of these are true, then the conclusion does not hold water.

Secondly, the director assumes that the increase in average rent for apartment in town also indicates the increase in rent of the local area of college. Perhaps the increase in rent is more in central and debonair area of town that has increased overall average. Further, the increase in rent might be of sophisticated and luxurious apartment where students are unlikely to live that doesn’t have impact on the apartment usually preferred by students. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, the director assumes that increase in dormitories is a major factor that influences students to enroll in the college. Majority of students may have no regard for the condition of dormitory. Some students who prefer games might look towards the sports scope in the college and tenacity of college to win competitive games. There might also be the students who prefer better education and these students look for the number of faculty and their quality. The status of living space might be of less concern to them. If these are the actual cases, then the persuasiveness of the argument is hindered.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the director of student housing is able to provide evidence to these claims (perhaps based on systematic study approach), then the viability of the argument can fully be determined.