Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of
study in which they are unlikely to succeed.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the
claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling
reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position
Success is an extemporaneous event that cannot be determined in advance. Most students are always in dilemma
of choosing the right field for their career. Students sometimes take years in determining the right field for
study. The prompt decribes the role of a teacher, school, colleges and even parents in helping their student
to choose the path where they are likely to succeed. I strongly disagree with the statement to negatively
encourage the field where they are not currently likely to succeed. Pursuing the branch of study not only
depends upon the present status of the student or the outside environment where the student is supposed to
take a important role after his study and two cases are explained.
Firstly, world is dynamic and ever-changing. A career which is very promising at present may have
lower opportunities in future. A student who wants to take a field of study not having many opportunities at
present may have a large scope in future; reproaching him from taking that field might be a reason he might
not succeed. For example, In 1970 nuclear engineering was a promising field with many countries competing
to develop nuclear weapons and plants. By 2000, the nuclear programme of many countries slowed down due to
various disadvantage of nuclear plants and also the formation of new rules to limit nuclear plants. A student,
interested in other fields, took nuclear engineering in around 1995 does blame the institution and people who discouraged
him from taking the field he wanted to pursue. Noone can perciesly determine the area where a particular individual might
succeed.
Secondly, success is not a pivotal factor in life of many people; self-satisfaction will have greater importance
for them. A student who want to pursue arts if takes other field due to the influence might blame the person
or the institution who strongly recommended him to choose other fields. He might not succeed in the field even if the
field is remunerative because he has not given his mind and soul completely in his work. Had he taken arts he might
focus and work harder which is key to success. Even, he didnot succeed in the career he choose he doesnot blame
anyone neither himself but becomes happy for living the life he wanted. Great philosopher have also said that
not greater achievment or popularity matters the most and, what actually makes one life more happy is self esteem
that does not come from path shown or directed by others.
However, may might argue that in the competitive world strong advice focusses the student in the challanges he
have not seen. Is this not what we are talking about? Dissuading a student from the path he likes
also detoriates his interest and capabilty from doing a certain job efficiently. A person so determined and
toiled to perform the task he likes has a greater chance of reaching his suffice out of the blue and achieving great success in
the field not so emphasized by common people.Thus dissuading a student to choose a field where he is not likely to succeed
is completely gauche and caricious activity.