Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Leadership is a propriety utterly dependent on the quality to make everyone around the person happy and satisfied with the person as well as, the ability to make a proper decision on a every circumstance and being devoted to achieve it. The prompt provides the opinion of some people who wants their leader to address each and every problem and work accordingly to it. It also gives view of other people who prefers obdurate leaders. I mostly agree with the prompt and provide two explanation that emphasizes the public friendly leader as a better one. However, I do concede and provide a few reasons that a leader committed leader to principle is also needed.

Firstly, in countries having multi-party system there are many political parties for election. There is a chance that any political party doesn’t get a majority. In such case the political party that has gained most vote must develop a mutual relation with another party. While doing so, leaders of both the parties must to some case abandon their principles and make an agreement with the other. If the compromise is not strongly founded, they bond breaks and the government falls. Proper relation between these political parties ensures the proper functioning of administration as well as stability in the country.

Moreover, a leader, who is strongly inured and tenacious to his principle, is often a dictator and most people doesn’t want to be ruled by a dictator. He is rigid to his principle but in doing so divest right of his citizens. For example, Hitler, ruler of Germany, was so stubborn to his rule that severe punishment was given to those who break the norms. Even he increased the status of Germany and made it economically and militarily powerful many people were not satisfied. This is because their opinion and feelings were in vain. They could not express freely and at that time the most important thing for them was right to freedom which was desiccated. The principle in a strong manner can always not serve good; flexibility is also a characteristics of a citizen friendly leader.

However, sometimes a far-sighted leader must be stubborn and must work according to the principle for public good which at present seems gruesome. For example, Donald Trump, president of America and one of the principle-based leaders, threatened to deploy military force in street if people didn’t follow social distancing and gather for protest in the time of Corona pandemic. This expression gained a wide disapproval and he was lambasted publicly. But it serves good to the people and controls the virus from spreading. Although, people complained their right to freedom was disturbed, it protects people from getting infected from crowdy situations. So, a leader must sometimes take a strong move and not be nimble for a long-term benefit.

Thus, in conclusion, a leader must have both the quality of addressing the views of his people and also must have rigidity and be strong to his words. These abilities of the leader are based on his decision-making capacity which is a main factor that make him great and superior from others.