Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Every society have some people be it men or women who are well known particulary to that group and to whom the people have a relentless faith. The prompt identifies these famous people as heros and role models and claims that the character of these famous icon of society represents the overall character of people living in that area. I mostly agree with the prompt and provide two explanations but also present a few cases where these lionized people are misleading.

Firstly, it can be agreed that a society accolades people who are in some ways better that the common people. These consummate people are revered by general because they have done something great for the welfare of the society. For instance, a well known musician refelects his community. The genre of song he sings is favourable to most of the people. The way he dresses comes from the society tradition and that which is accepted by the people. If he does not reflect the society and did not math the feeling of the people he would not have been famous. A person is considered a role model if and only if he is truely accepted as a representative as well as promoter of the people and the sciety he lives.

Moreover, not only living but the deeds of person who passed away contributing to the particular area are can also give a detailed knowledge of a society. For example, Nepali people are known for bravery and are also called "Gorkhalis" moslty by English people because they fought without any fear and defended the country from East India Company captured by England. Even these Nepalese have less arms and were not advanced in warefare as the English army they protected the country from colonism. Due to this Nepali army are famous in world for their bravery and are recruited to serve in front line in wars. England recruites several Nepalese as British Gorkha Army every year even today. This is a true example of the character of heros representing charater of a society.

However, these role models can sometimes be misleading. A leader appointed by getting vote of many people after being in a sinecure postion might forget his people and society. There are cogent people who can initially make people happy by providing small benifts to the society and eventually reveal their true character once they get a respected positoin with many opportunities. Many leaders who are selected and voted by people have been witnessed to be dictator at last. Such people can never give true colors of their originality.

In conclusion, an erdutie person always dedicated to the society and are also liked by the people since a long time are the true representative of a society and reflect the characcter of the people but there can always be an anomaly where people change their attitude one they have their heyday.