The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes by placing Adams Realty in a higher rank than Fitch Realty in terms of duration of home sold, the price of the sold homes, number of staffs of each firm, last year average revenue of the firms and also his past experience. The author assertion may be true, but based on unwarranted assumptions. In order, to determine the persuasiveness of the argument the author must provide explanation to these three claims.

Firstly, homes listed under Adams Realty and Fitch Realty may not be of same quality. Fitch Realty may only accept homes of superior quality that include better furnishing, well-spaced living room and kitchen, comparatively larger space in front of house and cannot be normally afforded by common people. It might also be possible that the homes listed under Adam Realty are in location in the core of residential area whereas, the homes listed under Fitch Realty might be in village area or near natural site which people basically use as a farmhouse and are of higher values. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the conclusion of the argument is weakened.

Moreover, the author assumes that last year revenue data is an indication of revenues of all the previous years. It is possible that revenue collected by Adams Realty be distinctively higher than previous years. Likewise, revenue collected by Fitch Realty last year be considerably lower than precedent years. If these cases are true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, author remembers his selling experience of home listed under Adams Realty before ten years and home listed under Fitch Realty last year. The State of business of these firms may have changed over such a long period of time. It is possible that before ten years Adam Realty was a start-up company and had less trust of people. But over this long period of time Adam Realty have grown its business and may have become a leading company for selling houses with large number of costumers trusting them. He would have sold the house last year faster and in higher value if he had listed it under Adam Realty. If this is the condition of the Adam Realty than the credibility of the argument is hindered.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is significantly flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide more evidence to these three claims perhaps based on systematic study approach then the viability of the argument can be fully determined.