Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Antropologist conclude that more interview-centered surveys must be conducted to obtain precise information on Tertian child-rearing practice. They come to this conclusion based on difference between the finding of observation-centered Dr. Field research and interview-centered Dr. Karp research. The author assertion might be true, but these three questions must be answered to determine the credibility of recommendation.

First of all, did Dr. Field observe whole Tertia island? It is possible that he observed only a few selcted areas. These areas might have more number of orphans and street-children. Not having their parents; they are coherently fed and taken care by generous society people but the children having their parents are reared by their own guardians. Also, it is possible that Dr. Field observed families who are insolvent and are dependent on community people to raise their children. If any of these is true, then the conclusion of the recommendation does not hold water.

Secondly, Did Dr. Karp interviewed enough Tertian children? Perhaps he might have interviewed more chilren from other island rather than Tertia where people are not as kind and gregarious as Tertian people. Despite parents penury they must feed their children even if they are not grown properly. It might also be possible that the people of other island are rich and independent enough to guard their children properly. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, are the answers given py the children immaculate? Dr. Karp might have interviewed rich children whose every demands are being fuilfilled. So they must not talk about other people to fulfil their needs. Also, the children were being manipulated by asking only the questions of their biological parents. So the children ignorantly talked often about their biological parents. If this is the case, then persuasiveness of the recommendation is hindered.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide answer to these three questions (based on systematic study approach), then the viability of the recommendation can fully be evaluated.