The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that an exective and consequently a business can be successful, if there are more people who sleep less than six hours a night. The author comes to this conclusion based on the findings of a recent study. The author assertion might be true, but following three explanations must be substantiated before evaluating the credibiltiy of the argument.

First of all, it is said that 300 people were studied in the research. This quantity of people may not represent the overall people of the world. Also, these groups of people may mostly contain successful executives who have a habit of sleeping less at night. If another set of people are studied, then there may be antithetical outcome. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the conclusion of the argument is considerably flawed.

Secondly, the study may not be scientific and systemtic. It does not give any detail about weather the executives sleep at day time to compensate for their night sleep. Further, the study is based on the sayings of the executives. They may not have said precisely or they may be flamboyance and have lied about the time of sleep to show superiority. If any of these cases are true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, the author assumes that night time sleep is only a factor determining the success of an executive. There may be other factor that determines the achievement. Strong propensity toward work, toil and dilligent virtues may be the factors for giving the desired result by the executives rather than their duration of sleep. Also, these employees who had higher profit margins and faster growth may be consummate and are caveat towards their work. If any of these are the actual cases, then the persuasiveness of the argument is hindered.

Thus, in conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is significantly flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide evidences to these three explanations (perhaps by a systematic study approach), then the viability of the argument can fully be determined.