Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the present context, formal education has been a vital process of a person right after birth. He is admitted to play group, school, college, and university. The prompt describes this process of education as restriction to mind and spirit. However, I mostly disagree with the prompt and provide two reasons about how formal education is beneficial. Although, I concede a few cases where prompt holds true.

Firstly, humans are learning creatures. They get knowledge from past experiences, surrounding and by different formal methods. Formal education in specific gives us straight knowledge of different aspects. There will be large difference between thinking of a formally educated and uneducated person. For instance, if two persons are interviewed with on being formally educated and the other not having formal education with similar dresses and given a similar question; the question not being the field of the formally educated person, certainly, the answer of the educated person will be more understandable as well as board in thought. Formal education thus widens the thinking of an individual.

Moreover, studying is not only means getting knowledge of what is being written in the book but also a process where the person must have a patience of sequentially going through words and focusing his mind in it completely. It increases the patience and concentration of the reader. For example, two persons both receiving formal education but one having higher level of education than the other if given an article to read, the person with higher level education reads it faster and understands it better in a short time. This is because the person has previous knowledge of the article but by the level of focus and the attention, he provides on reading.

However, formal education must coincide with the interest of the individual. A universal uniformity of curriculum to every student is a curse. A person who wants to be an astrologer when given education about biology of plants will certainly hinder his progression in the field he wants to pursue and also slowly loses his interest in education. It surely hinders his development and also decreases his spirit of learning.

In conclusion, formal education does not have a negative impact who acquires it despite some process that must be changed according to the need of the reader that helps in overall development of mind and soul of the person.