The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The manager of the television station concludes that expanding coverage of local and weather news increases viewers as well as revenues to be collected from advertisers. He comes to this conclusion based on the complaints received from the subscribers and decrease in promotion contracts. The author's assertion might be true, but following three explanations must be substantiated in order to determine the credibility of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the complaints received from viewers are of the less time to local and weather news. It is possible that these negative responses from the customers be due to more unverified news. The weather forecast of the channel have had very low probability of getting its prediction correct which aggravated the people dependent on it while going outdoors. Also, the local news is so surfacial without any proper proofs and research which is reverted on the next news show, after another fact comes into light. These wavering and perfunctory process have caused people to lose their dependence on the news broadcasted by the channel. If any of these are true, then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the manager assumes that decline in local advertising contracts be due to less time in native news. It might be that the overall effectiveness of the television channel have waned and the promotion is less likely to cover a larger target people.Further, the price and benifits from the advertisement are not homogeneous causing to decrease the interest of promoters. Also , it might be possible that local products have reached their target of being known to people and more marketing is not further required reducing the advertisement from the companies. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the conclusion of the argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, the author assumes that increase in local and weather news increases the number of its followers and consequently budgets collected from advertisement. Perhaps this might confine the scope of the news to rather smaller areas and the decrease in viewers from other areas be comaparatively higher then the increase in local supporters. Moreover, this new format might make the programs of the channel more tedious and uninteresting having negative impact on costumers and ultimately the promoters. If these cases are true, then the persuasiveness of the argument is hindered.

Thus, in conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the manager is able to provide evidence to these three expanations (perhaps based on systematic study approach), then the viability of the argument can be fully evaluated.