The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author concludes that the order of birth is responsible for amount of generation of cortisol which increases the activity level in stimulating conditions. He comes to the conclusion based on a research of eighteen rhesus monkey. However, before the persuasiveness of the argument be correctly measured the author must provide evidence to these three explanations.

Firstly, eighteen monkeys under study may not be the representation of whole group of monkeys. It is possible that the monkeys may be of a particular geography and the findings cannot be used to account the analysis of all monkeys. Also, the monkeys under consideration may include the first-born infant monkeys who have not before crossed across unknown monkeys that resulted in increases stimulation whereas the younger siblings may have encountered unfamiliar monkeys relatively more. If any of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion of the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, there in not a modicum of proof that the study is scientific. The study may be conducted by a group of students so as to submit as a research for diploma program under no guidance of expert; findings of such study cannot be comprehensive as well as flawless. If this is the case or may be analogous to the actual case then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, the argument above unwarrantedly assumes that the generation of hormone is true for humans similar to monkeys. There is no evidence weather humans and monkey share same attribute. It may be true for some of the relative infants he has recently noticed but cannot strongly recommend that younger offspring have low level of stimulation.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is not plausible due to its reliance on unverified assumptions. These three explanations must be accountably evaluated based on a systematic study approach for the conclusion to be drawn precisely.