Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus, it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument concludes that woven basket baskets of a particular style which were preciously found only in Palean village are not unique because they are recently found in Lithos village too. However, the argument can be properly evaluated if author provides evidence to following two specifics.

The author assumes that The Brim River was very deep and broad and it could be crossed only by boat which is not found yet. But it is possible that even though there may be not a short land way to directly go from Palean to Lithos there might be a round- about path through which traveler could travel. Further possibility is, people may have travelled by boat but the boat is yet to be discovered. If any of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn from current argument is significantly weakened.

Moreover, the author assumes that Lithos had only their native people. There could be Palean people in Lithos who may have made the basket. So, the baskets found in Lithos may be made by those Palean people living there. This may attribute that the maker of the basket be only Palean people. If this is found true, the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is not flawless due to its reliance on unwarranted evidence. If the author provides evidence to these two analyses (perhaps from a systematic study approach) then it can be evaluated that Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.