The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The manager of the television station concludes that restoring the local and weather news level to former level increases the viewers and advertisers. He comes to this conclusion based on customers complaints and his observation. The author's assertion might be true but following three explanations must be substaintated in order to determine the credibility of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the complaints received from the viewers about coverage of weather and local news is because of devotion to less time towards it. It is possible that the dissatisfaction be due to quality of the news as well as the presenter of the news, not to the quantity of the information and time spent on it. Also, the news casted in the television are not veritable which have been reproached in the near future that have increased the level of frustation in the watchers of the channel. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the conclusion of the argument is significantly flawed.

Secondly, the manager assumes that increasing the local and weather news increases the quantity of the viewers. Perhaps increasing the amount of local news infuriates the non-local people who make up a huge portion of the subscriptor of the channel and doing so might have less increase in local viewers in comparision to wane of the viewers from other areas. Further, other factors such as reduction in amount of advertisements, delivery of more current and pressing news rather than hackneyed and tedious information, already known to the people, might contribute more to increase the number of viewers than the assumed local and weather news. If any of these cases are true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, the author assumes that increasing local and weather news attracts more advertisers. It might be possible that this might result to increase in viewers of the local region and the overall advertisement of the product across the nation might be limited causing further resentment in the advertisers whose product is already famous in the home-town but wanted to proliforate their business to other areas. Moreover, the contracts are being canceled because of the relatively high cost for the advertisement. There might be another station with comparable number of viewers but low cost of promotion which have attracted marketers. So, decreasing the cost of the promotion might result in more contracts which is not related to the type of news delivered. If any of these are the practical conditions, then the persuasiveness of the argument is weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide evidence to these three explanations (perhaps based on systematic study approach), then the viability of the argument can be fully evaluated.