The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council of Maple County concludes that limiting new housing reduces overdevelopment and predicts that such restriction increaes the housing price in Maple county. They come to the conclusion based on observation of result of similar rule in other counties and their prediction. The council's assertion might be true but, following three questions must be answered to determine the credibility of the argument.

First of all, does circumvention in building new houses reduces over-development? It is possibe that the untoward development be due to more number of factories near residental areas. These factories might have polluted the air of the county, mixed the chemicals in rivers polluting the water resource and increasing land and noise pollution. Restriction in housing des not overcome the situation and proper caveat must be made for industries. It is also possible that decreasing farmland might be due to increase in shopping centers and recreational parks not due to consruction of new houses. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the argument is significantly flawed.

Secondly, can the observation from other counties that too from decades ago be immaculately used to forecast the housing price in the Maple county? Perhaps in Chestnut county ten years ago, the unpromptu development was so worse that very few people wanted to shift to the county as well as people who were living in that county started migrating to other areas resulting in modest increase in housing price. But, in Pine County fifteen years ago, due to more infrastructure high influx of new residents did not change causing to increase in housing price severly. If these are true, then the argument does not hold water.

Fianlly, do controlling the building of new houses increase the housing price in Maple county? Perhaps apartment system may flourish,accomodating large number of families in a single house in less price. Also, the people building new houses may now increase the levels of exixting houses neutralizing the drawback of building new houses. Further there might not be more new residents in the county compared to previous years so, there will notbe greater demand of new housing. If any of these cases are true, it hinders the persuasiveness of the conclusion of the argument.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the council is able to provide answers to these three questions (perhaps based on systematic study approach), then the viability of the arguent can fully be evaluated