Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In the current situation, where social media and, information on internet has been a part of human life; with it comes the good and bad news, help post, and the real-time news. The prompt emphasizes the role of what we call viral news that generally points the negative aspect of a recognized person or an organization. I mostly agree with the prompt with two reasons but also present a case where this unwantedly popular information might have a very negative influence.

It is human nature to get more attracted to negative news more and if it is of a well-known person or an established company the attraction automatically increases. The attraction further increases if we hear more frequently about the news. We people in common don’t mostly care about how a government body, educational institutions, social organizations are running. But for instance, if a news of corruption becomes popular now, we dramatically focus our attention to how is the organization working; how are the board of directors and members, what other bad things have happened in the organization in past. Certainly, public also provides pressure and support for the responsible authority to correct the misdeed. People also keep in mind and watch closely to the department for some time in future which will most probably not be the case if they have heard only once or twice in a daily news channel.

Scandals are also so far reached and deeply rooted in minds of public that it provides awareness to people in an indirect way. People have known already that they must only treat in an authorized hospital and by an authorized doctor. They frequently ignore this because of various reasons like lacking hospitals nearby; to save money by visiting unauthorized personnel. But a popular news of suppose death of a person due to bad treatment or chicanery removal of some inner organs inspires fear in people to treat in not authenticated or even not so famous institutions. This fear is a good habit which cannot be encouraged by a motivational speech.

However, scandals don’t always expose bad activity but sometimes tend to expose seemingly bad activity of an erudite person or institution. For example, a celebrity if somehow misses to greet a co-worker or in some bad mood talks harshly is so criticized that has caused so many mental pressures in them. These so-called bad scandals are so devastating that it ruins the celebrity career and in a worst-case scenario have themselves succumbed to suicide by not being able to overcome the pressure from public.

Thus, it can be inferred that scandals do not always focus our attention to problems but sometimes leads us to closely look at some issues that is not so harsh depending on the case presented. So, people instead of blindly following the scandal must first carefully think about the conditions in which such cases might appear.