Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that the evaluation of professors by students must be rescinded in order to secure jobs of graduates from Omega University. He comes to this conclusion based on comparision of the grades of students at present with that of fifteen years ago and also the comparision with graduates of nearby Alpha University. The author's assertion might be true, but following three explanations must be considered to evatuate the credibilty of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the increase in grade of students is due to flattery by professors to have a better response from students. Perhaps the increase in grade be due to more dedication put by the professors, so they don' get bad credits. This enthusiastic involvement of lecturers have increased the quality of education consequently increasing grade of the students. Also, more number of intelligent and industrious students might increase in the university in recent years increasing the overall average of the grades. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the argument is significantly flawed.

Secondly, the author assumes that Omega graduates are less preferred by the employers compared to graduates from Alpha University. It might be possible that this observation is surfacial and there is no difference in the eyes of employers about the university of the graduates. It is also possible, that Omega graduates are rarely natives whereas, Alpha graduates are moslty locals. Omega graduates may return to their hometowm after completion of education so, Alpha graduates are more perspicious in the local area that lead to beief that Alpha graduates are more preffered. If any of these cases is true, then the conclusion of the argument does not hold water.

Finally, the author assumes that termination of professor's evaluation increases job security for the Omega graduates. It is possible that Omega University has less collaboration with the recruitment company that reduces job opportunity for the graduates. Also, the curriculum of the university might need to be revised with more attention towards practical approach to make students friendly to professional environment increasing their job chances. If these are the actual situations that have impacted on graduates job security rather than the procedure of evaluation of professor then the persuasiveness of the argument is hindered.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is significantly flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide evidence to these three claims (perhaps based on systematic study approach), then the viability of the argument can be fully determined.