To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

One thing that differentiates humans from other animals, is society. The social life of any animal is restricted to its family. However in case of humans it goes way beyond that. When man first quit the nomadic way of life, settlements were formed. Settlements grew into villages. The biggest and most prosperous villages, became cities. Thus societies kept evolving. Cities are representatives of the overall aspects and features of any society.

The major city in any society is the economic center of that society. In villages, the occupations are limited to agriculture, and a few supplementary tasks, such as supplying animal products, carpentry, pottery or the local shop. However, cities offer unlimited job opportunities. There are various industries and factories where labor is required. New occupations have sprung up to support them. Transport, communication, architecture are just a few examples. Thus the city is the heart of the society.

Since major cities have surplus population, the demand for resources increases as well. People from various villages come to the city to sell their goods. Thus the city becomes a huge marketplace. Since so many good are available, soon people from other lands too come to these markets. This influences their perspective about the society. In their descriptions or memoirs, they describe the society through the city’s point of view.

When thousands of people from various villages come to the city, they are attracted to the lifestyle there. Many of them settle down there, hoping for a better future. These people bring along with them, their unique way of life. The city becomes an eclectic mixture of various cultures of the society. It becomes truly metropolitan in nature.

As the city develops, new educational institutions spring up. Education becomes a crucial aspect of life. People get to know the history and rituals of their society. Through education, creative people are able to express themselves. This gives rise to art, literature and music. The city, and thus the society is known for their unique culture.

Of course, it is possible that the city life may change a person. The various values and rites of the village may be forgotten. Over the course of years the city gets its own culture, becomes a society of its own. However, every city has its own flavor, reminiscent of its roots.

Thus, I believe that to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.