To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

I agree with author if anyone want to know the importance of society he or she must concentrate on its major city. Usually, whatever changes we see in the society is directly proportionate to its major cities because society always concentrate its major city development and to make it glorious.

Every nation or society will always concentrate on the major cities and neglect its backward cities. The society will be always in competition with other society, there main intention is to develop the society like increase the economy, living condition of people, success rate in employment and many more. Hence, they always concentrate on its major city which gives profit and make them stand out from other society. Therefore they always show negligence towards the backward cities and never to try to improve there condition.

For example if we take living condition of India, the government always concentrate on developing its metropolitan city like Mumbai, Delhi, Bangalore and many more. Therefore all the people from backward cities want experience the living condition of developed city hence, the move to the major city and search for opportunity which helps them to grow and succeed in their life. Later they will settle in the developed city because there will no opportunity in backward cities. Therefore, the developed cities will more polluted and populated because of the government negligence towards backward cities.

In conclusion its definitely to understand how society works we have to understand its major city first because they always neglect the backward cities. But the society should treat all cities equally then only its helps to become developed nation.