To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is similar to saying, look at the beauty of an apartment, and don’t bother about what it is made from. In a given argument, the author is providing only one aspect of studying the important characteristics of a society by studying its important cities, but according to me, it is equally important to study villages and small cities to understand the characteristics of a particular society.

Firstly, major cities in terms of developing countries, are a mere mirage. People living in there are following social values of developed countries. For example, in developing countries like India or countries in Africa, Child labor is a predominant issue. But the same issue is not seen in their major cities because of well-educated people and facilities present. Contrary to that, due to lack exposure to the world, societies present in the small villages facing this issue.

Secondly, there are many countries where the major population lives in villages and small towns. Hence their cultural and social values may be different from that of major cities. For example, in India, the agricultural sector is majorly represented by the villages where people prefer farming over the engineering or medical field which is exactly opposite to the people in the major cities.

Looking on the positive side of the argument, Major cities consist of an amalgamation of different parts of the nation or society representing different cultural and social values. Also learning centers, colleges, famous universities are mostly situated in the major cities. So studying and understanding intellectual output will definitely help to understand the important characteristics of the society.

After looking at the both aspect of the argument, it could be said that, though major cities give a solid base to understand the social and cultural values of a society, it may be artificial. Evaluating and understanding the characteristics of a society is not an easy job, one must consider the different aspects and development of different part of a nation to understand the true characteristics of a society.