To Understand The Most Important Characteristics Of A Society, One Must Study Its Major Cities

Studying about a society and culture is always been a intriguing topic to anyone who has special interests in it. Starting from a historian to amateur story writer, every one is fascinated by the under the veil aspects of any culture that a book or class room lecture cannot give us. For this, we need to study the culture by visiting that place. But visiting only cities, never serve us the purpose that we are yearning for. So, what stated by the author is purely surmised version of his or her perception.

Early Aryan civilization of India had been found in Horappa and Mohenjodaro. But the historians not only studied the area that belonged to these cities but also the surrounded areas of Indus and Sutlej river to give their final conclusion. So, here we can see if anthropologists would have studied only Horappa and Mohenjodaro, it would not got the actual details that they were searching for. So, it is quite evident that the statement is quite weaker to put forward.

Egyptian culture and social-economic studies not only focus on the cities of Cairo, Alexandria but also encompass the whole Egypt. Several times several scientists and historians tried to cover the small aspects of the Egyptian culture and societies but the invention became quite uni-directional led them to one aspects of the society. But to study a society and a culture you have to consider the whole country or whole region; not the cities and important trade centers. Society is never formed only based on a city. Even a village can have a society that a particular group of peoples manage to maintain to nurture their tradition and believes. So, this statement is severely fallacious.

Contrast to this, medieval Europe was flourished on the banks of the important rivers of Volga, Po, Danube mainly around the cities like Rome, Florence and further the different societies were founded on these cities. The different aspects of different societies can be studied in the medieval cities of Europe and but that is not only limited to Cities other aspects also matter here. Although, here majority of the studies were done in Cities, so in this particular case the statement somehow manages to prove it's hypothesis.

But one thing is quite prominent that only studying a City and it's culture do not give you a clear picture of a society. You should have a fair idea about the whole region which further brights up the prospects of your experiment. So the statement here is severely weak to substantiate it's point. It should do more research and come up with a concrete conclusion.