TO UNDERSTAND THE MOST IMPORTANT CHARACTERSTICS OF A SOCIETY, ONE MUST STUDY ITS MAJOR CITIES.

Major cities of a country are usually the most populated and economic hubs of a country. Where large scale industrial growth ensures a steady inflow of huge lumps of money for some people and little wages ensure a 2 time steady meal for others. It is certainly the best place to observe the most important characteristics of a society.

For this we need to understand what the most important characteristics of a society really are? Is it just the economic stability of the society, or is it the harmony among different strata of the society based on economy? Or it could be gender equality? Or economic disparity? I feel it is very subjective and solely depends on one's viewpoint. If you want to understand the impact of a country’s policy on the lowest strata of the society, then big cities won’t remain the best places as they generally disguise most of the mean standards of a country. For that one needs to look at the impact in small towns and villages. But to study a sample of population we prefer to get an unbiased sample with a good amount of data points to get to the conclusion. So for most of the important characteristics to study I could think of, big cities are the best places to do so.

Major city of a country is generally a place that has observed a growth in terms of development index, standard of living and population inflow, which thus leads to more and more population inflow for better opportunities, and this amalgamation becomes a perfect point of study for different characteristics a society reflects.