Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The above prompt says that leraning and compreending about a sundry of great historical leaders and their past is not thought to be beneficial for the current leaders, which I strongly disagree with. Learning about the past leaders and their management style would help a lot for the current leaders.

To begin with, It could be learnt how not to be from the past leaders, the current leaders who are in a position of power can learn from the past leader's mistakes and how not to commit the same mistake they did. For example, Adolf Hitler, he was tyrannical and has tormented the jews and nazis for ages, which is why he is known for his barbarious character and not his leadership. He might have been a great leader to his country people but, in the world's eye he will always remain as the despotic ruler. And this sets an example as how a leader should not be. This one couldn't have possibly learnt by any other means but by understanding and learning about history. Today, if any leader is acting a presumptuous absolutist, he or she will immediately be compared to Hitler, because that is the image that comes to one's mind when the word brutual leader is said.

In addition, the current leader could also learn from great leaders, how to manage certain things from the past leaders. It is always said that" History repeats itself", and when it does, the current leaders can always manage the predicament, the same way the previous leader did, or can enhance it. Atleast by learning about the past, the person in power, will have an idea as in how to deal with that particular situation. For example, Mahatma Gandhi, was a great leader and a freedom fighter of India, who is still being taught about in every schhol and college in India. And this is because of how great a leader he was, and how he tackled every predicament along the way in a poised state. His principles, core values, is something that is worth learning, and can help us tackle problems in our life as well.

Lastly, it would never be a waste learning about history and leadership for that matter, because "Knowledge is power", there is nothing stronger that words. As one may say, words are mightier than swords. The words, will be preserved and will move along the next generations. Without them noting can be learnt. For example, the history books, it is because the important events were written down and preserved we are able to learn about the past events.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that learning and understanding the past is very benefical and will prove to be useful for the current leaders or for the person in power. It will never prove to be futile to learn more about the past events.