Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be true? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the present world, a majority of people opt for self-employment rather than a 9-5 job in an organization. There is a multitude of reasons why people prefer this, but there are pros and cons for both types of employment.

Firstly, many people believe that self-employment is more satisfying and fulfilling than a 9-5 job at a company. This is what drives many youngsters to create their own business. When one works for an organization, it could be because he or she is forced into working because of their financial situation, where they have to support their family, even though they do not like their job. Working in a company day in and day out for a decent salary, just because of pressure is not good enough for everyone.

Secondly, when one is self-employed and running their own business, it is because of their passion and they love what they do. For instance, Mark Zuckerberg, the CEO of Facebook, Instagram and WhatsApp, if he had been satisfied with a mediocre job, we would not have something called social media today.

Lastly, there are a variegated disadvantages in a business as well. The most important factor that a job can offer but not self-employment is the financial stability. Even though, a business can give a high turnover, there is an equal and very real possibility of losing everything that is invested. The risk factors involved in a business is way higher, and it’s a precarious path to go take. There are many companies that have shut down because of insolvency, such as Jet Airways. Jet Airways was an airline company which provided a cost-effective price on the tickets and most suitable for middle class families to fly domestic.

In conclusion, the mode of employment is contingent upon the person and their interests, whether he or she is satisfied with what they are doing.