Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Learning is not only about what is being taught in schools and colleges. One should try to acquire knowledge from any source. Knowledge is eternal and is omnipresent. Acquiring knowledge should always be one of the student’s inborn skills. Many educational institutions often implement this ideology by allowing its students to study and learn from outside the syllabus. I would like to respectfully support the argument stated above.

Firstly, different students have different abilities and talents. It is not possible to accommodate each and every student’s subject or course choices, which they may find suitable, when considering the whole class as one. Thus, each and all educational institutions have a solid syllabus that is followed. However, institutions are often flexible in allowing students to take up those courses which are or couldn’t be included in the syllabus. Everything is not possible to be taught in schools or colleges. Students must involve themselves with those areas or courses which aren’t taught to them. For example, some students may find an interest in learning languages which may not always be feasible to be a part of curriculum, thus allowing students to sign up for language courses outside the syllabus can help the interested students.

Secondly, sometimes the universities may often lack certain faculty members or the appropriate resources for teaching any particular course. For example, theoretical explanations of certain concepts in the engineering may be possible but not always their practical implementation. In such cases, the universities can provide them with the financial support or sign them up for online courses, that can help the students to build projects to have or explore the practical applications of the concepts. Thus, introducing to subjects outside their syllabus or the extension of the syllabus topics is justified.

Thirdly, sometimes students may find difficulty in understanding certain topics. Universities can offer students external help by providing certain specialized courses which may tend to give a broad explanation on the same. For example, universities may often find explaining all the topics in a particular subject say Computer science, not feasible, considering the length and depth of the topics. They can help students to enroll in online teaching platforms like Udemy and Coursera for in depth explanation of the topics. Such platforms also provide students a certificate on completion, which may motivate the students to take up further courses.

However, one can even look up from the other side of the argument in a way that often taking up extra courses in addition to the strict syllabus may often tend to burden the students. It may so happen those students may feel lost, after a certain point of time, when burdened with lots of courses and this can lead to negative effects on the students. However, I would like to be adamant with my point of view in supporting the argument that universities should offer students to enroll in courses outside their curriculum.