Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In such a competitive and monotonous world, competition is present everywhere. Be it school level, college level or any professional sphere, people are all, knowingly or unknowingly, in a rat race to be at the top. It is quite common among students to aim for higher marks and grades and the competition gets tougher and tougher, as time flies. But I believe this competition is in some way useful and desirable.

Having a fixed goal and aim in life, be it a short term or long term, is very essential. It keeps the people motivated and strive towards it. Among school students, there exists severe competition among all peers to score higher marks and grades. With this goal, students often indulge in devoting more time towards their academics. This improves or provides an opportunity for students to learn more and improve their knowledge base. Their methods and approach towards learning improves and this results in improvising their quality of learning. For example, entrance exams like JEE and CAT exams require students to seriously compete to be among the rank holders. Yearning for higher grades surely helps them improve their approach and thereby their quality of learning by enrolling in extra classes, learning from peers etc.

Having this competitive mindset helps students to be always focused in order to achieve success. This is not just limited to a particular class or level, such students, with regular practice and determined aim, tend to lend in more efforts in achieving their target. For example, class 12 board exams strictly adhere to NCERT curriculum for their mode of learning. Different competitive exams are based on CBSE syllabus. For all other non CBSE students, exams provide them with an opportunity to enhance their knowledge by studying or referring the CBSE books as well. This competition helps students, from non CBSE background, to improve their methods and quality of learning.

However, I do believe that in some ways competition may demand too much from students. Studying from different books different syllabus focusing on other aspects of life too seems to be a Herculean task. With sole aim of attaining good grades, students tend to find nooks and crooked ways of attaining their result. This however can affect their learning in a detrimental way. In conclusion, however the most important thing is to achieve good grades for students and competition helps students to perform better than others. Some strive harder some may not, however I don’t believe that the quality of learning is seriously affected in any level. On the other hand, it keeps the students motivated and focused to learn and work more for achieving their results or goals.