The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The passage speaks about the general concerns of the Maple County council over their country’s overdevelopment and the suitable measures taken to overcome it. The council members however are highly capricious with their judgement, having both supporters and opponents to their chosen measures. Both divisions of people compare the result of such measures in other counties. However, the measures taken by the council members and their reasoning seems to be highly flawed.

Firstly, the council members, both the supporters and the opponents, compare the results of such measures taken in other counties. However, their comparison involves completely different timelines. Comparing the results of any development plan 5-10 years ago and the present times seems to be highly flawed. The trends of housing prices in different counties may have doubled or increased marginally, but such trends cannot be perceived as a fixed trend in the future. Developmental plans, at the present, can give better results i.e it cannot be said with surety that housing prices will grow more than double or marginal changes. It is completely incorrect to perceive the past trends in other counties as to be permanent in future too.

Secondly, the council members made comparisons with other counties for their justification. However, it cannot be assumed that or there is no data to prove that the population or the rate of development of the compared counties were same as that of the Maple County. Maybe the population in Chestnut County may have been lesser and their developmental rate would not have been at Maple’s level. Similarly, Pine County would have had lesser or more population compared to Maple. Implementing the same measures in different counties with different developmental rate and population cannot provide accurate comparison results.

Thirdly, the council’s prediction that implementing the proposed measure will increase the housing prices in future seems incorrect. It is not justifiable to predict the future housing prices with the present trends treating them as eternally true. There seems to be certain ambiguity associated with the word ‘significant’ increase as mentioned in the concluding statement.

In conclusion, the opinions of different council members over a proposed measure to curb overdevelopment seems to be highly flawed in different aspects. Comparing results of past trends to the present seems inaccurate. Also, comparison done among non-similar things cannot be truly accepted. Similarly, the future result of any measure cannot be surely predicted considering the current trends.