Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The University system by design allows individual department or field to administer peculiar courses based on the particular discipline. I mostly, disagree with the author's claim that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's discipline based on two reasons. However, I do concede that to some minimal degree, certain courses be taken by students based on obvious needs.

first of all, asking students to take variety of courses from different different fields could reduced their overall performance in their respective field Students intelligence quotient differs from individual to another. A student who is presumably verse in mathematics may perform poorly in biology and asking such student to compulsorily take biology may be counterproductive. Task for instance, a medical student is been mandated to take quantum mechanics and advanced calculus. In the firsts scenario, such course may not be germane to his studies as potential physician, and may lead to overall reduced performance where mostly needed.

Furthermore, It may breeds an atmosphere of malfeasance in the part of students. The competition amongst students is usually one that is rigorous, and some students will go extra mile in pursuit of good grade. In some cases, this may result to some students engaging in corrupt academic practices in order to pass these borrowed courses. A good example is financial, and sexual inducement by students whose primary intentions are to pass certain courses in order to promote to the next level. In one of the survey on examination misconduct released by the University of Benin, Nigeria, it was observed that eighty percentage of convicted students interviewed claimed to have engaged in examination malpractice (as last resort) in courses borrowed from other departments or fields. This clearly proves that mandating students to take courses outside their discipline may lead to academic malfeasance.

However, in certain instances such as the promotion of national unity, i do concede that some peculiar courses be mandated on all students to take and this should also not be a way of measuring students overall performance. Take for example, in Nigeria Universities, history, and philosophy of science and technology is often taught to all beginners. This is majorly to educate them about the history of their nation and create a sense of patriotism amongst its youths. In the same way, a physics student may be mandated to take some courses from mathematics as such will benefit the students in his field of study.

In conclusion, a students should not be mandated to take varieties of courses from other field unless in certain instances