"Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In an era of information technology where social media has become a tool in the hands of virtually the majority, including recruiting organizations, accessing once profile or information about any prospective applicant in job process has become less difficult. One prospective employer can just sit at his comfort zone and access information or data he needs about his future employees. While social media platforms are sometimes laced with concocted and unfound polished information about some of these applicants, the vast usefulness is unquantifiable. The platform does not just give the information an employer needs to access a potential employee, it assist in reducing the number of shortlisted candidates which are usually more than the required. For example, in the recruitment conducted by a certain company in central Nigeria, most of those who scaled through the first altitude test all have substantial social media presence. This helps to explain how an appealing imagine can be more helpful in a contemporary society.

In addition, presenting oneself with superb qualities has equally aided politicians in winning elections. In this so-called game of politics, the masses tend to be attracted more to people's public display than by their true nature as future leaders. So, it is convenient to lie and win election than to say the truth and fail; this is the new normal in our modern society. Take for example in recent campaigns in countries like the United States, the successful candidate amongst the two major contenders lied his way to the the top by even denying the indisputable climate science. In so doing, he has presented a false image to the appeal of the public which thus earn his votes.

However, securing any country against external aggression is usually one of the primary responsibilities of any government in modern society. Mostly popular government, including those who practice liberal democracy have taken advantage of this fake public posturing in their fight against insecurity like terrorism. One of the ways in which government garner information and profiling of potential terrorists treats is through individual posturing and dispositions both in public and online. A person who may not be profile whereas in reality, he is not dangerous.