Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

In the argument, the author posits that Nature's Way would make more profit if it opens another store in Plainsville. The author comes to this conclusion based on sundry presuppositions, which if correct could indicate that the argument holds water. Nevertheless, as it stands now, this conclusion leans on three unjustifiable premises that diminish the credibility of the recommendation.

First of all, the author assumes that most residents of Plainsville rely on health related products to live healthily. In this way, the author is assuming a directly causal correlation between the healthy lifestyle of the residents of Plainsville and increase patronage of the Nature's Way products. What if the locals actually depend on other natural means such as herbal products which are not available in Nature's Way businesses? Or maybe the locales are peasant farmers with no financial means to buy products from their franchise? This will definitely weakens the assumption thereby rendering their proposed franchise unpropitious.

Furthermore, the authors assumes that the report from Plainsville's traders of increase in sales of health related products was true and substantial enough.Such rise in sales of these products could arise from residents of neighboring town. Maybe residents of a neighboring town where such products are scarce are buying more to resell to their locale customers for the mean time. In any case, this rise is ephemeral in nature and would not constitute a viable reason for the establishment of another store in Plainsville.

The author states that the locale gym membership's rise will guarantee profitability. In this case, the author believes most residents of the town are into gym another physical exercises which requires these products. What if there were only five participants in the gym before this report, and suddenly it changes to ten? Will such rise justify a need to create another store in the town? It maybe the rise is temporarily due to peculiar cold weather in the town which entails residents come to gym and such weather condition will vanish just within a month.

While the creation of a new store at Plainsville may be a good idea due to certain conditions, the author assumptions are are unwarrantedand does not justify a need to build another franchise in the town. More improvements are required to warrant such action.