Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the positi

At first glance, we may think it is beneficiary to students to learn variety of subjects outside the field of study, deeper analysis of the issue will give more insights on why it will be having more negative consequences than positive one's. I don't think learning courses outside of students field of study will be an added advantage. I came to this conclusion based on my own experience during my undergraduate course study and many more.

Although it seems exciting to learn courses not related to our field of study, at a time it will be useless when choose a career on our field of study. Lets take an example of my own course work. I had a course on basics of Civil engineering in my first year of Electronics engineering. I tried very hard to cope with the course work because I didn't have any interest on civil engineering and it was never related to my field of study. Ultimately I never used the topics which I have learnt during that course during my career as Hardware engineer.

However, if university includes some basic subjects which will be helpful for any student irrespective of career path one will choose it will be an added advantage. I heard of a university having stress management course in their engineering coursework from one of my friend. I found it very helpful to learn that course as we all have to deal with stress once we got into Corporate world. Subjects like these will have an impact on Student's overall growth.

In conclusion I will like to say, if University will add any courses which is not useful for student then it will be burden. It is a waste of time, waste of money to learn the subjects which one will never come across in real life. Instead of taking that course student might get some extra time for doing some projects or social work which will be helpful for his or her all round growth.