Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

The author in the given issue states that universities must require every student should go for a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. I comply with the authors statement because taking part in various activities helps student to realize their inherent talent for a particular activity and it is beneficial for him. There are many reasons, based on which I accede with the author's statement and I will comprehend the reasons in the succeeding statements.

Firstly, every university is a base for academics and very few universities have different field of activities for the students. It is essential for a student to go for the courses he is fond of, as it enhances his talent in that particular field. For example, a person having good reflexes, can become a good sportsman, a person having a grand way of acting can undoubtedly join the field of cinema, etc. Considering these examples, it is evident that taking part into variety of course can enhance the inherent talent of a person and can be beneficial in future.

Secondly, adhering to extra curriculum activities expose a person to new things and one can learn from it. The students, frustrated from academics, can give try to variety of activities like yoga to appease their mind and make them mentally strong. Indulging in activities related to sports and athletics makes a person fit and energetic. There are many students who are weak in academics and does not have a radiant future in the field of academics, but these students are often gifted with skills and talents for a particular activity that makes their future bright. For example, Rahul Dravid, was good at cricket, but he opted for the field of CA and when he failed in it, he rendered to go for cricket. And today, he is among the top cricketers of world. Hence, we can say that going for extra courses give us a chance to evoke the skills beneath us and can be prolific.

There are many benefits for a student in taking variety of courses, but, on the contrary, there are some cons too. A student overshadows his academics while he is penchant for the other courses. And it has a negative impact on the academics of student. Moreover, sometimes a student get over labored to such activities that enervates the students and then they feel lethargic the remaining time. This worsens the student's focus on academics and other routine of life. Meanwhile as there are some reasons opposing the participation in extra courses, but there are plenty reasons to support it.

Summarizing my opinions stated above and based on the fact that taking part in variety of courses elevates a student and enhances their life, I conclude that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.