Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The policy in which the universities require students to take up courses only within those fields they are interested in studying, sounds quite good and effective. According to the current university course structure, a student is required to pay attention to a wide array of fields. The courses include various subjects which may not be needed in the student's pursued field of interest but have to be cumpalsorily finished in order to pass the exam and obtain a certain degree.

If universities restrict the courses to desired interest fields of students, it would help in reducing the time span for completing the courses and receiving the degree. This would help in making the students an early contributor towards the society. Not only, it would help in reducing the time span, it would also help the students financially. The more number of years the students have to devote in an educational programme would be cut down and hence the amount of fees would also be cut down in the same ratio. This would ease out financial burden on students to a considerable extent. Interest oriented subjects would mean that students would give their full attention to these. They would put their heart and soul to complete these courses and their goals would be reached earlier in time. Let us say, if a student wants to be a journalist, and his course structure compells him to study computers and few science subjects in the first year, it would completely be futile for the student. Similary if a student wishes to pursue engineering and the course structure includes economics and communication subjects, it would prove to worthless for them as well.

Though this policy of taking up selective courses based on interest of a student can be very beneficial, there are certain cases where this kind of a policy might fail. There are students who are undecided about which career they would like to pursue in future. These students would want to give a try to everything bit by bit and gradually decide what they really want to take up. If the courses become restricted, these students would have to choose among the pool of courses and might end up choosing a wrong one instead. If this happens, this policy would turn out to be reverse of effective for them. Also, there are certain subjects which should be mandatory for students so that they keep up good manners, discipline, respect for elders and concern towards the environment.

Therefore, if the universities require students to take courses in their fields of interests, it would be yielding positive results. But, just like a coin has two sides, the effect of the policy wouldn't prove to be effetive in certain scenarios as mentioned above.