As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

This statement seems to be irrefutable at the first glance but questionable when thinking twice. As far as I am concerned, as we acquire more knowledge, old things and questions do become more comprehensible while new things and questions arise and face us with more complicity and mystery.

From the perspective of history, the acquisition of knowledge do make things understandable. Almost every question, no matter it relates to science, art or philosophy, would follow the rule of what we called "the law of negation of the negation," which means that new things come from the collapse of old theories. Therefore, as human beings become more knowledgeable, obsolete theories and "truths" could be replaced by new comprehension which could make things better understand and comprehensive.

Take the development of genetics for example. At the very beginning, people thought that things could be born spontaneously just like flies could have derived from rotten meats. Later on, with the effort of scientists of several generations, people started to believe that genes are the basic element of heredity and that genes lie on a chemical molecule called DNA, which is the chemical nature of chromosomes, and thus the essence of heredity. Finally with the deciphering of DNA structure, which is turned out to be a double-helix paired by basic groups, people opened the era of molecular biology and started to understand the essence of heredity. Nowadays, people could even manipulate heretical process using genetic engineering methods. Therefore, we can tell that as human beings obtain more knowledge, old things and questions become more comprehensible and clearer.

However, since we have stepped into an era of advanced science and technology, newly emerged cutting-edge questions make things even more complex and confusing. The contribution from all human beings, normal people as well as talented scientists have pushed science and technology forward to the edge of our knowledge, new discoveries could hardly be made without the integration of knowledge from various fields of study as well as the invention of more capable computers such as quantum computers. People's knowledge about the universe is limited by things we have already known. At a macro scale, we still cannot track the origin of the universe; at a micro scale, we are not sure about the behavior of basic fundamental particles. The achievement of science and technology makes things much more complex and sophisticated than they were in the last century, but it is these intricate questions that move the civilization of human beings forward to a new stage.

In my view, for each individual, as one obtains more knowledge, he/she sure will make progress in his/her own field of study, and the deeper a person goes into, the clearer picture of the certain field he/she is able to see. Nevertheless, for the whole human civilization, things could become highly complex since people have to integrate knowledge from different fields of study to solve some cutting-edge mysteries. Therefore, everything could become increasingly complex and confusing, as well as less comprehensible.

Either for an individual or the whole society, acquiring knowledge is like climbing a staircase made up of books to see a full picture of the sky. People may start with an obstacle in front of their eyes, but as they climb up, they would be able to have a larger view. However, if people continue to climb, they are likely to be masked by the cloud; and thus things would become complicated and confusing. But finally people could make their way to a higher stage and would be able to see the full picture of the question. Thus, as we acquire more knowledge, old things and questions could be comprehensible while new things and questions would become more complex and mysterious, but increasingly intriguing as well.