Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students -- like people in general -- prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Although the reason for this prompt that people generally prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions might sounds reasonable, it should not be the case for an effective education. The job of an educational institute should be cultivating a student's ability of creative thinking as well as to independently make their own decisions. Therefore, I would call this proposition into question and refute it with the following reasons.

It might sound ideal to provide a specific guidance for every student to follow since by doing so students' uncertainty about their college life could be eliminated. We students are mostly infused with the idea that college is everything, and entrance into college could mean a carefree life in the future. However, this cliché could no longer hold truth after one enters the real college. The diversified college life is still full of hesitation and uncertainty. Therefore, a college student might easily get lost without proper guidance. For those who are pretty sure about what to do in their future life, a specified syllabus might provide them with a guidance with much more clearance, as they could approach the crescendo with every small step taken firmly and clearly. As for those who are still hesitate about what to do in the future, specifying all required courses could eliminate their hesitation and the educational institute could still exert its function as a preparation for the future. Therefore, proponents for this prompt might argue that it is advantageous for colleges to provide students with specified study plans.

However, students should learn to think independently and make their own decisions. College life prepare a student for fitting into a real society. Nevertheless, life in a real society needs an individual to utilizes one's own wisdom to make the right decision as well as to confront challenges mostly by oneself. Therefore, it is better for a college student to cultivate his/her own decision making ability during his/her college life and a pragmatic practice to achieve this goal is to educate the student to choose his/her own syllabus according to his/her learning ability. In that way, a student could learn to undertake the result of his/her own making gradually learn to make decisions independently and more wisely in their future life. Therefore, specifying all required courses is unnecessary for the reason that it could undermine a student's capability of making his/her own choice.

Moreover, considering from both economic perspective and feasible perspective, it is not quite possible for a college to provide students with explicitly specified study plan. Situations vary from person to person, and one man's meat is another man's poison. Nonetheless, it is not plausible for an educational institute to specify a specific guideline for every individual. Besides, there is a great number of elective courses to choose according to their own interests, and it is less likely to turn all these courses into compulsory. Therefore, colleges and universities should offer students with the right to choose courses for themselves rather than specifying the teaching program.

In conclusion, the function of an education institute is to proffer students with the choice to choose their own study plan, to infuse a student with creativity and independency, as well as to prepare its student with the chance to choose their future life. To achieve these goals, colleges and universities should not specify the required courses or eliminate elective courses.