We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Learning is a process of understanding material that one did not know before. Some people think they can gain more knowledge from people that have the same perspectives, while some believe they can learn more from people that have contradicting belief. In my opinion, I agree that we can learn more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own, because learning from people that have similar views is the most efficient way to earn new knowledge.

Similar in ideas is the first reason that we can understand much more with people that have sharing perspectives. For instance, Democrats and Republicans are two political parties with disparate political concepts. It is nearly impossible to learn how to become a Democrat in the Republican Party, because they have fundamentally different views and policies on the same issue. In order to become a Democrat, one must be participating in the Democrat Party and learn from other member in the party. Although learning how to be a Democrat in the Republican Party is possible, the progress is much longer than one in the Democrat Party. As a result, gaining knowledge from people with the same idea will enhance the learning process.

In addition to distinction in opinion, having arguments is also an example that shows learning from the people that have opposite point of view is inefficient. Some people think that debating can reinforce the knowledge and strengthen the perspective. However, argument will not have any benefits on understanding the material that we did not know before. Thus, people with contradict perspectives will prohibit the learning process.

In summary, I think we can learn more from people whose views we share than from people whose ideas opposite our own, because it is faster to gain knowledge from people that have similar opinions. The two examples, different political parties and debating, illustrate the we can understand more from people with alike views.