Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In most countries, scholars are looking for methods that will motivate students to learn. Some people think that educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students when planning courses, because students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying. In my opinion, I do not agree the claim and the reason that the claim is based on, since learning is not a process about interesting.

First of all, each student is different. Everyone has their unique favorite or interest, so it is impossible to design a class that all students will feel interesting. Therefore, planning classes while consider the students’ interest at the same time is very difficult. Also, some students may have no interest in certain classes, so it is impossible to take care of the favors of all students. In summary, learning should not be based on students’ interests.

Besides, in order to develop a well-being thinking system, students should have touched on every aspect, regardless of their interest. For example, scientists cannot understand science only, because some liberal arts classes may have helped some discoveries in science and technology. A specific instance to illustrate is the discovery of benzene. Thus, students cannot learn things that are interesting to them, because it might prohibit the well-development to themselves and the overall society.

Thirdly, academic institutions are responsible to educate students some common knowledge in the society. There is some fundamental knowledge that has to know in school, such as the basic understanding of modern financial system. Without the essential knowledge, many students will have a much difficult time to success and be independent in the society. Hence, educators should not plan classes based on students’ interest.

In conclusion, I do not agree the claim and the reason that the claim is based on, since learning is not a process about interesting. From the examples of unique differences in students, a well-being thinking system, and responsibility of schools, the argument emphasizes the constructing in courses should not related to students’ interests.