"We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own. "disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning"

Do we learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own? The writer contends so for the reason disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

I concede that undue discord can impede learning. Otherwise, my point of view is we can learn much more from discord, debate and discussion with those whose views we contradict than those whose views we share.

Admittedly, In some circumstances like today's clamorous TV debates where people are just shouting to their voice to be listen rather than debating with scruples and facts, In such case, we generally learn nothing , such debate and discord definitely can cause and impede learning. In today's Teli vision people are just shouting and shouting, such discord cannot flourish knowledge. In such case the writer can be true.

Aside this, If both the debater are of the same field and have profound knowledge in their field, then in such case the discord can trigger learning. In such case , the two debater should be of the same field so that they agree with fundamental terms.

In sum, I partially agree that we usually learn from people whose views we share than from those whose views we contradict, in all case I cannot agree with the writer's assertion.