Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that keeping old friends is more important than making new friends because they remind us of who we are, know immediately how to make you feel good when you are stressed, know everything about you, and love you anyway. However, I do not agree and think that making new friends is more important than keeping old friends for the following three reasons.

First of all, making new friends open you up to new possibilities. It is easy to get stuck in the status quo, doing what you always do with your time. But making new friends will get you out of your routine and out of creating new adventure.

Second of all, making new friends offer different perspectives. Long-time friendship typically shares similar values, interests, and perspectives. And while it is great to have similar mindsets, it is also beneficial to be challenged with your way of thinking. New friendship brings new perspectives which can enhance the way you view the world.

Third of all, making new friends teach you new things. When you make new friends, you get opportunities to be familiar with their work, religion, lifestyle, and their knowledge. That familiarity provides you an opportunity to grow further. It gives you a piece of new knowledge and helps to flourish your life.

In conclusion, I believe that it is more important to make new friends than to keep old friends.