We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own

Learning is very important for the person's growth. Learning can be done in many ways- through self studies, group studies, exchange of ideas and views. Though self studies mainly restrict the person view points to themselves, group studies facilitate the person to share ideas and get other people view points on the subject. Exchange of knowledge helps one to learn the subject better.

While sharing the ideas with other person, the latter might agree or disagree with you. If the person agrees with you, then it might result in both of you working together on the subject and trying to find more about it from each other understanding. On the other hand, if the other person disagrees with you, then both can work subject to prove the correctness in their statements which will help both to get better insights of the subject and will get in depth knowledge of the subject.

Debates, one of the very popular forms of speech in English literature, which works on the principle that one person is for the motion and another is against the motion. Debates prove to be very helpful if one wants to know the both ends of any topic or statements as they not only cater to two different views. Same goes for the working in teams, If all the team members have same views points at any statements, then they move to the next step to enhance their knowledge about the subject and get more knowledge by working together and sharing ideas. But, even if a single team member has contradictory views on the subject, it can lead to doubts on the current analysis and statements and compel the team to do further research and gather better evidences to support their views. Thus, sharing ideas with someone who has a different view points as yours can help increase the authenticity of the statement and ideas. The contradictory point may provide us with something that one is missing in its research and helps in the logical conclusion of the ideas.

For instance, in our government assembly, whenever a bill is passed, the speaker ask for both the leading and opposition parties to present their views. If both agree on the bill, then the bill is passed and people start working on the implementation of the bill, but,if the other party disagrees, then the leading party gives evidences and supports their points with more logical and statistical data. Thus the contradictory view on the bill forces the leading party to do more research on the topic and come with the evidences to support their statements.

To conclude, sharing of ideas is one of the best way to learn things, either the views are same or contradictory, it adds on to your knowledge.