The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Whether the statement holds true or not depends on which groups of people in the society are challenging the authority and in what ways. For groups of people such as secondary school students and employees in factories and companies, challenging the school teachers and the supervisors will disrupt the normal operations of schools and firms that would harm the well-beings of the society. On the other hand, scientists should be encouraged to question the authority through which new theories can be developed and new technologies can be advanced to improve the productivity of the society.

Adolescents studying in secondary schools should not be allowed to challenge their teachers and parents to ensure their own well-being and the stability of the society. As we all know, adolescents are very likely to have conflicts with their parents and teachers as they struggle to become more independent and get more freedom. They are interested in experimenting with new things such as sex and drugs without proper understanding of the consequences of such experimentation. The supervision and constraints from teachers and parents are often necessary for their own well-beings. Without respecting the authority of parents in regulating young people’s sexual behaviors, for example, the teenage girls may get pregnant by accident, which can lead to serious personal and social problems. In terms of academic studies, students at this stage do not have the abilities to challenge the authority of the teachers who often present the relatively well-established facts and theories based on the textbooks. Challenging teachers’ authority in academic matters will only harm the productivity of the teachers and students.

Employees in manufacturing and service sectors need to follow a set of rules if the society is to prosper economically. Modern corporations and factories rely on the cooperation of a large team of employees to create economic value efficiently. Workers on the assembly lines, for example, have to follow the instructions of their supervisors to ensure the smooth manufacturing processes. The supervisors’ authority has to be respected when the workers are told to correct some mistakes they make. In addition, the effective governance of corporations rely on the swift execution of instructions made by the managers to their subordinates. The authority of the managers has to be maintained to ensure that the organisation would perform according to the policies made by the top management. Otherwise, the productivity and profitability of the corporations will suffer.

Scientists, on the other hand, can benefit the research community and the society as a whole by questioning the leading experts and their theories in the fields. One of the key features of science that distinguishes itself from pseudoscience is that the scientists and researchers are always open to the possibility that the existing theories and explanations could be wrong. Through publishing peer-reviewed scientific papers, the researchers need to present their findings to the scientific community and be prepared to answer any challenges that may arise from their peers. Other members of the research community may try to replicate the studies and challenge the authority of the authors if they come up with some inconsistent results. The whole process of challenging the authority of one another ensures the rigor of science and the validity of knowledge construction, which are essential for the overall well-being of the modern society.

In conclusion, the well-being of the society is closely related to the success of different sectors such as education, business and research. As I clearly illustrate with the examples above, challenging the authority in the fields of secondary education and business may harm the effective operation of the schools and businesses, thereby damaging the well-being of the society. Nevertheless, it is necessary for the members of the research community to challenge the authority to advance the development of the fields.