Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Since olden times any peaceful civilization always had a system of rules for its people to follow to maintain law and order. For the well-being of any society, it is necessary to take some freedom away from the public to prevent anarchy and conserve peace. Those who trespass the limits laid down by the law have to bear the corresponding penalty as an example for dissuading rest of the citizen for committing the same mistake. Nevertheless, having an absolute or unchangeable set of rules is counterproductive to the community as there could be innumerable situations surrounding the offense and the context or background is crucial in these cases. Thus, laws should definitely be flexible enough so that it is fair to each individual in their own right.

If the whole society is subjected to the same set of absolute laws without their local culture and background are taken into account, it will become nothing short of a dictatorship. The rules need to be continuously addressed with the passage of time since the needs of society also change with time. To illustrate, before the age of the internet, there were no laws pertaining to cyberbullying or cyber-crime since they were not of major consequence back then. But after multiple tragic suicides and violent incident in the nation, the government had to finally address the issue and reform the constitution. Similarly, before the year 1950, there were local laws against inter-caste marriages. But after a number of riots and anarchy broke out at different parts across the country, the law was again put to test and finally had to be reformed again. Today, these rule border on ridiculousness and absurdity and that is the exact essence of the above reasoning. Society changes with time and the law, thus, has to adapt accordingly as they are made for benefit of the citizens and not to act against their peace and well-being.

However, not each and every time the law should be changed on a whim. An appointed group of people aware of the constitution should review the circumstance, place and time before such action to prevent the manipulation of the law for personal desire. The guidelines should be revered among its community and wavering them constantly would diminish their importance making it fruitless. Therefore, rules should be flexible but not in a way such that they could be bent or twisted in any desired way.

To infer, the constitution should be open to accept change and adapt with circumstances, time and place such that it is fair to each class of the society. Although, care should be taken to not make too tolerating and cooperative such that they might give an unwarranted advantage to someone for their own personal gain. Only the laws that take consideration of the public as a whole form a healthy and peaceful society.