Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

The government, financially supported and politically legitimized by the citizens through democratic elections, are responsible for the well-being of the public and solving the dilemmas faced by the society. Regarding the dichotomy of choosing between the immediate versus imminent problems, in my opinion, the central government should focus on long-term issues while the local or state government should direct their attention to immediate issues. Of course, both central and local government should work alongside as they are closely and intricately related and to maximize the efficiency. Dividing the tasks also contributes to augmenting the productiveness of the effort and aids in narrowing down the focal problem at hand.

Local government is generally more adept in knowledge about the issues in their own community. Since they are elected by the regional public, they have a deeper understanding of the local issues and could, potentially, provide a more effective solution than that of the central government. To further illustrate my point, consider the example of the Kyoto earthquake in Japan that occurred in 2016. The regional government engaged in providing immediate food and medicinal resources and locating neighboring places for refugees. They were quite effective in providing emergency relief to the victims, the edge they had over center by knowing local tendencies and susceptible landmarks where people might need the most help. Likewise, the citizens, too, relied on local government to help them in resisting the spread of infections and epidemics while simultaneously disinfecting the area. Thus, it is potent that local government should address immediate local problems.

On the other hand, the central government looked to other states and allies to provide financial aid and resources and assigned military to support those in need of rescue. Furthermore, they employed medicinal practitioners to look into the outbreak of viral infections and epidemics due to flood and long-term effect of radiations that might torment the citizens in near future. Additionally, engineers were assigned to improve the design of buildings and bolster dams and high rise towers so as to minimize the damage to the city if such natural disasters were to occur again. Therefore, it is advisory for the central government to attend to more persisting issues.

However, not every issue is as clear-cut as the above problem. For a number of cases, both state and federal government have to work alongside to eliminate the issue. The local government has to ask for resources from the center while the central have to consult local government for further information about the regional area to get an accurate scale of the difficulty. More specifically, both the government have to comply with each other to resolve the situation.

To infer, a majority of the immediate problems are local and confined to a region, it is beneficial for local or state government to address the issue since they have finer information on their own community, whereas, the central government should focus on persistent issues while working together to address problems of different natures.