When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“The achivement of the country is denoted by its historical records and artifacts”. The prompt given recommended that any building on the ground should be used for the modern purposes and suggested that the priority should be given modernization of old building rather than protecting them. I completely disagree with the prompt and claim that the old archaic building should be protected as it can be boon for the new generation to know about the old achievement; further it can boost out the country’s tourism sector. I would like express my point through the following three examples.

Firstly, in each and every country there are a lot of fact and achievement that they had attain in their history. These achievements of the country are the evidence of the grueling efforts that their ancestor which they had put on to make the country which are seen in the present context. For instance, The forts of the Gorkha of the Nepal are one of the place where the most fierce battle of the late king Prithivi Narayan Shah, King who unified the great present Nepal, had took place. So, this fort is one of the important place which would represent the great king and his efforts forever to the coming generation. However, if such forts would be modernized than the real essence of the past time would be completely lost. And furthermore, the coming generation would not be informed about their history.

Furthermore, The view tower of the Kathmandu city, which is also known as Dharara was completely devasted during the devastating earthquake of the 2015 AD. As per the history the building blocks of the Dharara were made in the past by using a typical kind of mud and in place of cement it was made from a type of sticky grain known as Green gram. But during the reconstruction of the Dharara the previous material was left behind and was constructed through modern engineering where the iron rods and the cement were used for the construction. The new construction had totally left the thing history and time and after the history of Dharara would be completely forgotten by the new generation. The tower simply remains as a normal view tower. Had the government would have followed the way of the previous construction, it would had protected the history as well as it would have been a site of tourist place for the foreigners, due to historical importance.

Similarly, many Hindu people all around the world visits India in order to feel their complete history of the evolution and achievements of the Hindu gods. If all these historical places about Hindu gods would be modernized in India than these flow of the tourist from all over the world would also get dwindled.

There may be some people who might totally argue with this view point and argue that the old artefacts should be modernized and should be given modern view. They might be correct as the old artefacts may get ruined with time and can reached to the ramshackle condition with time and ultimately can get vanished. But in the name of the strengthening the old historical building, giving entirely the modern view would be completely wrong. However, there may be some cases where the modernization of old building have been effective but in most of the cases modernization have completely deteriorated the old historical building and especially there true old essence. So, they should strengthen proper but their historical essence should not be deteriorated.