Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Currently, it is debatable whether young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition. Some people hold a view that pursuing an immediate fame is a worthy goal since it allows people to earn a great amount of money. However, I believe that seeking for a long-term and realistic goals are more beneficial since it allows them to horn their skills to climb the ladder for the success.

First of all, an immediate recognition and fame will not last in long term and will take a toll on one’s reputations. Take Hwang Woo-suck for example. Hwang is a Korean scientist who was well-known for his stem cell cloning research. To become rapidly success in his field of research, he fabricated some research results and claimed that he was able to foster the embryonic stem cell. However, as a media revealed the his fabrication on the result, he was no long lionized by people in Korea and all around the world, and his reputation was defamed. If he did not seek for immediate recognition and continuously research on the field, he would be still recognized as a renowned scientist. However, his avarice yielded him to become an unsuccessful scientist. Therefore, pursuing immediate fame is not encouraging for young people.

In addition, aiming for immediate fame and recognition also causes detriment result in the business field. For instance, the Enron Energy Corporation was involved in financial fraud to hide their debts to the public. Since the company’s executives were look for immediate profit gains, they created an accounting loophole to hide billions of dollar of debts from the failed projects. If the executives faced with the adverse circumstance, and find a way to resolve the problem, the company would still exist, and it could overcome their weakness. Therefore, young people should definitely look for long-term success.

Lastly, young people should pursue a long-term, realistic goal because they can be successful. For example, Thomas Edison was an American inventor who made incessant efforts to create an affordable and long-lasting light bulb. Before Edison’s invention, people were normally used non-economical form of light bulb so it was not prevalently used among people. However, Edison tried to achieve his realistic goal by constantly research on it and eventually, he was able to create the current type of light bulb. Because of accomplishing his long-term and realistic goal, he has still considered as one of the most prominent inventor in the world. Therefore, seeking for long-term, realistic goal is a better way to become successful.

In conclusion, young people should follow the long-term, realistic goals, since they will be able to success in the field. Thus, our society would become a much better place with people who do not act hastily.