Congestion is becoming a more serious problem in cities globally. What are the reasons for this and what can be done to solve it?

In recent years, traffic congestion has became serious for many cities in the world. This essay will be analyze the causes and suggest some solutions to tackle this issue.

There are a range of reasons for traffic jam in developed countries. Firstly, the rising number of cars leads to this problem. Today, the living standard is improved significantly; thus, more people can afford cars to satisfy individual needs and requirements of work. Take Hanoi for example, twenty years ago, rare people had their own cars but thanks to economic development, this kind of transport has became popular on every street, just less than the number of motorbikes. Secondly, congestion also due to the poor quality of infrastructure. Bad roads make traffic conditions become more severe, especially in rush hours. As a result, drivers must slow down their vehicles to avoid accidental risks.

Traffic congestion has been known as an adverse problem but numerous solutions can be implemented to mitigate it. The first one is reducing car usage. This helps other transports such as motorcycles or bicycles have more spaces and improve considerably the traffic flow during peak hours. This method is obviously feasible and would have a long term effect. Moreover, the quality of roads needs to be enhanced. Governments should invest more budget to rebuild old roads and construct new flyovers where relevant. Although this measure viable, it is extremely expensive and takes a long time to complete these projects.

In conclusion, traffic jam is the result of greater car use and low quality of infrastructure. I truly think that authorities need to enact more suitable policies for personal transports to reduce the impacts of congestion.