Governments should control the amount of violence in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are many violent scenes in the media like television programs, movies, books etc. It has been an argument that governments should tighten the control of the amount of violence in these media. I totally agree with this view and will discuss the details in this essay by analyzing the both sides of this issue.

Admittedly, certain degree of violence in the media is acceptable by majority of adults. Some adults might have the habits to look at such violent scenes through TV or movie, for example, some movies with topic of war are very successful, and some of them even achieved the Oscar rewards. These programs enrich the variety of the content of media and meet certain audiences’ requirements.

However, the negative impacts of the violence in the media are also obvious. Firstly, it is not a good moral sample for children to follow with. Children normally don't have mutual judgement by themselves, such violent scenes might guide children into a wrong way, even lead them to commit crimes in a high possibility. For instance, many criminals have been proved that they are negatively impacted by some violent media during their childhood. Secondly, the violent scenes show negative impact on people's mental health, especially for women, it might make people feeling depressed and upset. This is really not good for building a harmony society. Furthermore, people have different tolerant level about the violence degree, thus violent degree should be indicated clearly on the programs in media, so audience can make their own decision to watch it or not.

In conclusion, although some people might have the interest to see some violent scenes, governments should play a proactive role in controlling the amount of violence in the media as well as establishing the classification process base on the violent level, thus the negative impacts to the public can be avoided.