Governments should pay for people’s education and health care. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, most governments have setup their educational and medical welfare systems in order to ensure the basic public services can be enjoyed by all families. However, some people argue that governments should be financially responsible for people's all levels of education and health care. From my personal view, government should offer basic services, while the public should pay by themselves if they choose to participant in a higher education or health care. I will discuss the details in this essay by analyzing the both views.

On the one hand, governments paying for education and health care promote social harmony in terms of helping low income families. Low income families might not be able to afford to pay education and health care, thus the governments' help would ensure all residents have the equal rights to be educated and taken care. Furthermore, some governments set up public schools and hospitals which are subsidized by governments' fund. This is a better solution rather than governments paying individuals for their cost on education and health care directly, with a better centralized management on schools and hospitals.

On the other hand, governments have limited funds, thus it is not realistic to afford all levels of education and health care. Governments should use their money on more critical areas and treat all residents equally, thus governments should mainly focus on providing basic education and health care. If individuals require higher level education such as university, the tuition fees should be covered either by themselves or by non-government funds. For example, China government only provides free education till secondary schools, which is a compromise to provide equally educational opportunities for huge population with limited funds.

In conclusion, I believe government must play a dominant role to provide subsidies to the public on basic schooling and health care. However, individuals should pay by themselves if they require higher level of education and health care. Some non-government organizations might help in these areas also.