Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected personal relationships ? Has this become a positive or negative development?

In the 20th and 21st centuries, the great development in technology and telecommunication has led to the reduction in social interactions between people. However, these developments have some advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion they have many drawbacks in spite of some considered benefits.

The invention of new small, mobile devices like the laptops and Smart phones has made people very busy. Nowadays, for instance, people continue to work out side their official working hours through their phones in their houses and public places that eventually will lead to decrease in interactions with friends and family members. For instance, most of the bank employees continue to work out of their working hours through their smart phones to follow reduction and increasing in the market.

Furthermore, the era of the internet and its social networks has led the young people to interact with each other through these social networks and ignore the real social relationships. These networks will eventually change the personality of the youth and might lead to psychological disturbances due to the fake personality that they build during their interaction with unknown characters through the internet. For example, new studies have suggested increased ratio of personality disorders amongst internet addicts. Thus the bad effect of the social networks as a major component of the modern technological development cannot be doubted.

However, mobile phones, the internet and home lines have made the communication with far relatives easy and accessible at any time compared to the past. For example, family members in one city can contact all of their relatives in other countries with just a click of a button.

In conclusion, development in technology has greatly changed social interactions and relationships. In spite of some benefits like easy communication with far people, technological development has made people busy anywhere rather than increasing the risk of psychological diseases.