Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Advancement in science and technology, especially in medicine has contributed solely to the health and longevity of the populace which brings about overpopulation. It is of no doubt that overpopulation is the cause of many problems in big towns and cities. I will enunciate the problems caused by overpopulation and suggest ways in which these problems can be solved in the preceding paragraph.

On one hand, it is quite clear that due to overpopulation, jobs available in a particular city or town cannot be enough for the given population. This brings about jobless people and jobless people are prone to commit crimes, for example armed robbery, assassination and so on. On the other hand, in a situation whereby many people live in a limited area, the ease with which traffic flows is bound to be abated.

However, these problems have solutions in which individuals and governments in partnership can achieve. Firstly, individual can bring up an idea of asserting a business venture and the governments can help make the idea a success by supporting the individual financially or by any other means. Governments, with the help of individuals can build industries, factories and so on to create job opportunity to the impeding population. To abate traffic congestion, governments can make available Public transport and reduce private cars on the road by taxing heavily on them.

To recapitulate, although overpopulation has posed many problems in urban areas, individuals and governments can provide the solutions to the given problems no matter how critical the problem may be.