Some people believe that electronic calculators should not be allowed in school until after the pupils have mastered mental arithmetic. Others believe that calculators save pupils time especially with complicated calculations.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The issue of whether using electronic calculators for children is beneficial or detrimental to their mental activity remains a controversial one that always opens the door for great deal of discussions and debates. However, I am convinced that the benefits of this issue far outweigh the drawbacks.

As the year passes everything is changing in alarming rate as well as the technology. Invention of calculators has contracted the viable time of pupils and also accelerated their work. Not only pupils use this, but also the people who work and study in this field. They are able to solve complex problems relating to the mathematics in short time.

Another overt advantage can be the fact that the calculators cater to pupils a sense of understanding the technology and by using this they will be able to work on the latest technology immediately.

To consider the odds, it is fair to say that using calculators to excess may annihilate the mental activity of youngsters. Furthermore, it poses to decrease the self considering, logical thinking and even pupils accept it as a habit on dealing with simple exercises. As a consequence it will bring them to the repercussion and inflict many troubles like: laziness and absent mindedness.

To my way of thinking, one cannot limit oneself in order not to use from calculator. In our daily life we use telephone calculators at least and if we explain to pupils that calculators are detrimental, they will consider it as a needles item and cause not to interest in technological tools. They start to act in a conservative way whereas the world is in need of radical changes in technology.

By way of conclusion I once again reaffirm my position that as long as we encourage them to be in a conservative way, we should give a chance to them so as to interest in new technology more and more by using it.