Some people believe that electronic calculators should not be allowed in school until after the pupils have mastered mental arithmetic. Others believe that calculators save pupils time, especially with complicated calculations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

'With technology we can hold the world' this quote depicts that throughout the world technology influences human activity, not only in daily activity but also in the school. In my country, Indonesia, is not allowing students to use electronic calculators until they have mastered mental arithmetic skill and some people argue that electronic calculators will give bad effect for pupils. However, critics claim that this technology can help children to count in the short time. In my view, calculators are needed in the specific lesson, while it will give negative effect for children. This essay is being discussion about these views.

Perfect practice makes perfect result which is the best quote to illustrate that we have to build ability from early. As such, giving reflection if children use calculators to count the limited digits in the mathematic lesson will give a bad habit, because they cannot improve their brain. Japanese students who become the winner in World Mathematic Olympiad have been educated to improve their arithmetic skill from early age without using a tool, for instance. It is the evidence that mastered mental arithmetic is to establish for improving logical brain. As a result, if schools allowed to use calculators for counting the short digit number which means that schools give a bad consideration for pupils’ mental arithmetic.

However, in the some lessons need electronic calculators to help students saving time when they face the complicated calculations. Accounting lesson which has complicated calculations has more than 7 digits which are impossible for pupils to calculate manually, for instance. So, schools should create a policy when students can use the electronic calculations and when these equipments are not allowed. I can argue that for toddlers who still study in the elementary school are forbidden to use calculators.

A study of scientists conducted that there are differences between students who have mastered mental arithmetic and who do not have this ability. Pupils who do not have arithmetic skill will get problem with logical brain because their brain is not getting exercise to give direct respond when they attempt to count little digit numbers.

To sum up, electronic calculators will help students to calculate numbers which consist of many digits, while in the practice it will influence students who still improve mental arithmetic will take a problem in their logical brain. In my view, schools should pay attention to allow electronic calculators which can be used only in the few subject, such as physic and accounting.